In an attempt to foster healthy competition amongst the brewers in the club the idea of a Brewer of the Year was created. The idea is that those who enter competitions that we host and place will earn points. At the end of the SODZ year we tally up those points and whomever has the most points will be crowned Brewer of the Year.


At the summer picnic the beers from Iron Kettle will be judged after which the Brewer of the Year will be announced. The brewer who wins this title will of course get bragging rights and a gift certificate for $100 to a local homebrew shop of their choice.

A SODZ year is September to June.

Eligible Competitions

The competitions that are eligible for earning points are:

  • Monthly Club Competitions
  • Beer for Boobs (BFB)
  • British Beer Festival (BBF)
  • Lucci Cup (Part of BBF)
  • Iron Kettle
  • National Homebrew Competition (NHC)
  • Ohio State Fair (OSF)

NHC and OSF aren’t SODZ competitions however it was decided that as extra encouragement we’d give points to brewers who place in these competitions.

Point System

Points will be awarded in the following manner.

  • 3 Points for first place.
  • 2 Points for second place.
  • 1 Point for third place.
  • 5 Points for winning Lucci Cup or getting Best of Show in BBF, BFB, OSF or NHC.


The current standing of members will be kept up to date on our site so that anyone can see where they stand compared to other club members.

*Last updated on 2/18/2020*

Brewer Name Current Points
David Curran 14
Eric Saas 12
Richard Sheppard 11
Nick Manos 6
Mike Jarrell 5
Victor Aume 5
Scott Elliott 4
Chris Utter 3
Jason Wing 3
Brian Huntley 3
Jim Sudduth 2
Matt Vander Eynden 2
Mike Noonan 1
Seth Bland 1

Previous Years Winners

  • 2014 – Gautam Bagchi
  • 2015 – Gautam Bagchi
  • 2016 – Steve Henry
  • 2017 – A.J. Zanyk
  • 2018 – Jim Sudduth
  • 2019 – Jim Sudduth

Connect With Us